• home Home
  • keyboard_arrow_right Politics
  • keyboard_arrow_right Posts
  • keyboard_arrow_rightNNPP Dissolves Working Committees In 7 States


NNPP Dissolves Working Committees In 7 States

today 33

share close



New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP, has dissolved the working committee of its executives in seven states.

The affected states include Ekiti, Rivers, Niger, Katsina, Kaduna, and Zamfara States.

National Publicity Secretary of the party, Dr. Agbo Major made this known while briefing newsmen in Abuja.

He explained that the action followed the report of a committee set up to investigate alleged anti party activities of party excos in nine states, during the 2023 elections.

According to Dr. Major, the party, while vowing to reposition itself as the fastest growing political party in Nigeria, also constituted a 5-man caretaker committee to manage affairs in states where its central working committees were sacked.

He stated that at National Working Committee meeting led by Abba Kawu, the party further revealed that the 7-man disciplinary committee shall continue on its mandate forthwith which led also to the suspension of the Enugu governorship candidate in the 2023 general elections, as well as its Senatorial candidate for Enugu North, Prof Onyeka A. Onyeka, over “gross anti party activities.”

“Following petitions and complaints received from the New Nigeria People’s Party’s State Chapters after the general election, the National Working Committee (NWC) set up a 7-man Disciplinary Committee to carry out investigation into alleged anti-party activities” he noted.

The NNPP National Publicity Secretary further revealed that the “National Working Committee decided to step down action” on disolving the Oyo and Imo States excos until the gubernatorial and local government elections in these states are conducted.

“The Committee painstakingly investigated issues raised in the petitions and complaints from June till today, Friday 28th July 2023, when the full report on nine (9) States already concluded was presented to the National Working Committee during its seating earlier today”.

“The Disciplinary Committee gave ample room to both petitioners and the petitioned to respond to issues raised in the petitions and complaints” he stressed.

“Immediate dissolution of all Executives across all levels from State, Local Government and Ward, in line with the party’s Constitution 2022 as amended in the following States:

“Enugu State. Also the State governorship candidate, Cajetan Eze, the Senatorial Candidate, Enugu North, Professor Onyeka A. Onyeka are hereby suspended.

“In view of the forthcoming governorship election in Imo State and Local Government elections in Oyo State from where serious petitions were also received, the National Working Committee decided to step down action until the elections are conducted, but directs that all vacant positions in Imo state be immediately filled in accordance with the provisions of the party’s Constitution.

He therefore urged members to remain calm and loyal to the party as it is being repositioned and strengthened in the quest for a new and better Nigeria which citizens desire and deserve.

Dr. Major also appealed to the Independent National Electoral Commission to conduct free, fair, credible and inclusive gubernatorial elections in Kogi, Imo and Bayelsa States. Nigerians expect transparent and generally acceptable elections in these States as we strive to deepen the nation’s emerging democracy.

Georgina Humphrey, Edited By Grace Namiji

Written by: Safiya Wada

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *