Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • play_arrow

    Kapital FM 92.9 The Station that Rocks!


Senate Sets Up Special Committees

todayJuly 11, 2023 16

share close

The senate has set up some special committees to pilot the affairs of the 10th Senate at committee levels.

The committees are : Selection Committee, comprising Godswill Akpabio, Barau Jibrin, Sani Hanga, Opeyemi Bamidele, Dave Umahi and Oyewunmi Kamarudeen.

Rules and Business Committee has Titus Zam as chairman, Opeyemi Bamidele, Vice Chairman.

Services Committee has Sunday Karimi as Chairman, William Jonah Vice Chairman while Ethics, Privileges and Public Petition has Okey Ezea as chairman and Ibrahim Khalid as vice chairman.

Also, Media and Public Affairs has Yemi Adaramodu as chairman and Salisu Afolabi, Vice Chairman.

You Can Also Read :Ajaokuta Steel, Solution For Building CollapseĀ  Senator Ohere

For Appriation Committee, Solomon Olamilekan is the chairman with Ali Ndume as Vice Chairman.

Legislative Compliance Committee has Buba Umar as Chairman, Asuquo Ekpeyong Vice Chairman while Public Accounts Committee has Aliyu Wadada as Chairman with Onyeka Peter, Vice Chairman.

Also the Senate has signified its interest to commence confirmation hearing of the newly appointed Service Chiefs.

President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio stated the readiness of the red chamber to confirm the service chiefs so as to tackle current security challenges in the country.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu in a letter to the President of the Senate which was read on the floor of the red chamber during plenary in Abuja, requested for the confirmation of the new Service Chiefs.

President Tinubu in the letter, explained that the worsened security situation in the country necessitated a review of the nation’s security architecture.

Last month the presidency named the new Service Chiefs which includes the following: Maj Gen CG Musa, Chief of Defence Staff; Maj Gen T A Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admirral E A Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff and AVM H B Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff.

James Itodo, Edited By Grace NamijiĀ 

Written by: Bukky Alabi

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *