• home Home
  • keyboard_arrow_right Featured
  • keyboard_arrow_right Sports
  • keyboard_arrow_right Posts
  • keyboard_arrow_rightAina, Awoniyi Selected For 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches


Aina, Awoniyi Selected For 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches

today 14

share close

Nottingham Forest duo of Defender Olaoluwa Aina and Striker Taiwo Awoniyi have made Jose Santos Peseiro 23 man list for this month’s 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches against Lesotho and Zimbabwe.

The duo was earlier called up by Peseiro in October to represent the Super Eagles in their friendly games against Saudi Arabia and Mozambique, but were ruled out due to injuries which they picked in their club side.

Now fully fit, the head coach of the 3 time African Champions has called on their services once more.

Also returning to the squad is Cardiff City defender Jamilu Collins, who returns after a long lay-off due to injury.

Meanwhile, Bayer Leverkusen of Germany forward Nathan Tella has gotten his first ever call up for the Super Eagles.

Spain-based striker Sadiq Umar also makes a return after a long absence.

Peseiro also invited goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, defenders Kenneth Omeruo, midfielders Alex Iwobi and Frank Onyeka, and forwards Moses Simon, Kelechi Iheanacho among others

There are also goalkeepers Francis Uzoho and Olorunleke Ojo, defenders Oluwasemilogo Ajayi and Bright Osayi-Samuel, midfielder Raphael Onyedika and forwards Ademola Lookman, Victor Boniface and Terem Moffi.

Also Read: Nigerian Ambassador Wants Super Eagles To Win AFCON Trophy

The Super Eagles kick-start their race to the 2026 world cup with a session against the Crocodiles of Lesotho at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo on Thursday 16 November 2023.

They then fly to Rwanda for a clash with the Warriors of Zimbabwe who adopted  Rwanda as home for the qualifiers as no stadium in the southern African nation has been deemed fit to host the FIFA World Cup qualifying games.

The Huye Stadium in Butare Rwanda will play host to Zimbabwe vs Nigeria on Sunday, 19th November.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Udinese Calcio, Italy)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales)

Midfielders: Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Nathan Tella (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Written by: Godstime Egelege-Idama

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *