Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • play_arrow

    Kapital FM 92.9 The Station that Rocks!


House Announces Constitution, Leadership Of Committees

todayJuly 27, 2023 39

share close

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dr Tajudeen Abbas has announced the constitution and leadership of the 134 standing committees of the 10th House.

Dr. Abbas, who announced that the Committees have been increased from 109 to 134, stated that all members of the Committees must be carried along.

The Selection Committee, according to him relied on the capacities, experiences, knowledge, competencies, skills, and legislative interests of members in assigning the members to different committees to ensure that they have round pegs in round holes.

The speaker assured that every committee of the House enjoys equal status, powers, and privileges as mere working groups to discharge the mandate given to them by their constituents.

Dr Abbas explained the functions of a committee, which according to him includes serving as the fulcrum of the Legislature due to its central role in performing the bulk of legislative responsibilities and tasks.

While urging the legislative Committees to discharge their oversight functions dispassionately, the Speaker called for the cooperation of the Executive arm, saying separation of powers does not mean separation of government.

Abbas said the Committees should involve the citizens at all levels, including regular public hearings, oversight functions, investigative hearings as well as open other channels of engaging with the people at whose command they are here.

He stated that owing to the high turnover in the Legislature witnessed in the last general election and the coming on-board of the new committees, there is an urgent need to build the capacity of Chairmen of Committees and their Deputies by the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (NILDS).

He charged them to be committed to the promotion of peace, order, and good governance of the nation.

Some of the Chairmen and their portfolios included Benjamin Kalu, the deputy speaker (Abia)-Constitution Review Committee; Abubakar Bichi (Kano)-Appropriations; Muhammed Elrufai (Kaduna)-Banking Regulations; Bamidele Salam (Osun)- Public Account; Ikenga Ikeagwuonu Ugochinyere (Imo)- Petroleum Resources (Downstream) Henry Okojie (Edo)- Petroleum Midstream; Victor Ogene (Anambra)- Renewable Energy; Hon. Amos Dunia- House services; Ibori Swenu (Delta) NDDC; Babajimi Benson (Lagos)-Defence; Hassan Fulata (Jigawa)-University Education and James Falake (Lagos)- Finance; Akin Alabi (Oyo) Media; Ginger Onwusibe (Abia)-Financial Crimes.

Others were Muktar Aliyu Betara (Borno)- FCT; Boma Goodhead (Rivers) Local Content; Wole Oke ( Osun) Judiciary; Ahmed Wase ( Plateau)- Federal Character; Abdulmumuni Jibrin (Kano)- Foreign Affairs; Akin Alabi (Oyo)-Works; Leke Abejide (Kogi)-Custome and Excise; Yusuf Gagdi-(Plateau)-Navy; Ado dogs (Kano)-Petroleum Up -Stream and Peter Akpatason (Edo)- Aviation.

Oduyemi Odumade, Edited By Grace Namiji

Written by: Elizabeth David

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *